Writing Prompt #3


On Friday, I guested on the second episode of The Original BURP Blog podcast with Gil, head of TOBB.  The episode is mainly about fantasy writing, and airs on January 28th.  Be sure to check it out!! 🙂  I updated my fanfic Johanna again (surprising, right?) after another burst of inspiration from Catching Fire.  (Yesterday, my mom told me that some people pronounce it with the “h”, which I found strange since I don’t)  So without further ado, here’s the next writing prompt! (written by Jonathan)

WRITING PROMPT #3: A warm breeze blows on your face as you ascend the hill. Thorns surround you, but there is a straight and narrow tunnel leading through them, and the thorns do not touch you. Loamy soil caresses your bare feet, and the wind is perfumed by an unseen censer. It is dark, but just enough light filters through the thorns over your head that you can see the path.  Suddenly, the thorns fall away behind you and you find yourself at a gate. A wooden palisade fence stretches away to your right and left, broken only by the wrought iron gate before you. When your fingers close around the gate you find that it is pleasantly warm. Everything feels warmer than it should be with so little sun light. However, nothing can deter you from your path.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Please comment if there’s anything you’d like to see on the site, or any particular topics you’d like me to discuss.  And also, please comment on this post if you’d like me to continue with the writing prompts or not.  Even if you don’t normally comment.  Because I haven’t gotten any prompts emailed in, I don’t know if they’re beneficial to you all or if you’d rather I’d be posting something more helpful/fun.  I added three new fantasy links to the Links page, and although they are all from SparkNotes (which is awesome btw), they’re actually pretty helpful, while bringing in a lot of humor at the same time. 🙂

CHALLENGE: Become an affiliate of Fictional Fantasy!  Email me at julia.fictionalfantasy@gmail.com, or you can fill out a request form on the Contact Us page.

2 thoughts on “Writing Prompt #3

  1. Thanks for the mention. And keep the prompts coming!! I need to start writing more often so they’re great 🙂

Leave a Reply

