Don’t Waste the Time You Said You Didn’t Have


It’s been raining for about four days now, complete with an on/off thick fog.  There’s something about overcast skies and misty weather that just screams fantasy setting.  It inspires me, but sometimes I don’t know what to do with the inspiration.  Sometimes I write a story, sometimes I don’t.  There’s always the excuse, I didn’t have time!  Of course you did.  You just chose to watch TV, listen to music, or go on FaceBook instead of using your inspiration.  I procrastinate all the time, and I wish I didn’t.  Sometimes, you miss out on a great opportunity when you choose to ignore your inspiration and not write.  I get inspiration by looking at scenes of nature, and fog is one of the things that really makes me think about my fantasy world, what it looks like, what living there would feel like, what kinds of creatures would live there.  Somehow, even if there’s an area of my created land that isn’t covered with mist or fog, it helps me to easily picture a desert in my land.  Finding your inspiration could be hard, or it could be easy.  Depending on what kind of world you want to write about, it could be anything from a seashell to a mountain landscape.  When I’m writing a chapter of my book, or just a random story, I ask myself, usually while I’m writing it, If this was a movie, what would it look like?  This helps me to visualize and include the important details I want people to notice, like the simple smell of baking bread, or a flash of red at the edge of your sight.  It usually takes me an hour to write a page when I do this, with or without dialogue.  Appealing to the five senses is extremely important in literature.  If you need inspiration for certain smells, go into a kitchen and close your eyes.  This will make you rely on your sense of smell to tell you what things are around you.  For example, if your character has been kidnapped and is blindfolded and expertly gagged, they can only go by what they hear and smell, right?  Doing the same yourself can give you an idea of what emotions your character is experiencing.  One sense has been taken away: sight.  On top of this, the character is experiencing fear and confusion because someone kidnapped them, someone who the character may or may not be able to identify.  Their hearing and sense of smell are suddenly extremely valuable assets that can give them a clue to where they are.  You can find inspiration in the most unexpected places.  By using the five senses, what’s around you, and the situation of the character, whether life-threatening or bursting with happiness, you can create a story that’s relatable and easy on the ear.  Don’t be afraid to add “color” to your story, and breath real-life experiences into it.

Leave a Reply

