Channelling Emotions


I advise everyone  to listen to an angry/sad song when they’re mad at someone, and then write a story.  That’s what I just did and I have to say, it’s pretty good for my first story about heartbreak.  (or at least I think so–you’re allowed to disagree completely if that suits you)  The song that my story is based on is “Heartbreak Warfare” by John Mayer, and I don’t even remember why I was angry in the first place.  Channelling your emotions is a very important thing for writers — how else are we able to have insight into the lives of our characters?  The only thing I can relate this to in a book, or the only thing I can think of, is when, in Catching Fire (the 2nd book of the Hunger Games trilogy), Cinna tells Katniss he channels his emotions through his work instead of throwing things and making a big fuss.  This is exactly was writers should be doing.  I’d love for you all to read my (super short) short story, and you can check it out HERE, under Short Stories at the top.

I know I haven’t updated a lot of things in a while, and I apologize.  If there’s anything you would particularly like to see on the site, or information you think would be helpful to include, please email me at julia.fictionalfantasy@gmail.com or fill out the Contact Us form.  Hope you’re all getting lots of writing done!

CHALLENGE: Listen to an angry/sad song and write whatever comes to you, whether it’s the size of a poem or six pages.

5 thoughts on “Channelling Emotions

  1. I can’t write while listening to music (most of the time anyway), but listening to a song and THEN writing is usually a pretty good plan. 🙂

    1. I know… Still, it distracts me. But I tried and, although I’m not that satisfied with it, would you like to read it?

Leave a Reply

