Like it? Love it? Obsessed?


Okay, almost two weeks without blogging has been KILLING ME.  But now I am back!!  The winner of the contest iiiiiiiis…..Isa Daughter of Athena!  Check out her story, an original myth for why the moon sometimes turns red, under the Mythology Stories category.  Isa’s prize is a guest post on FF, so be watching for it. 🙂

On to today’s topic: Liking fantasy is awesome.  Loving fantasy is cool.  Obsession with it, on the other hand, is not.  While you may eat, sleep, and breathe fantasy, it’s not good to talk about it 24/7.  You come off as SUPER weird and annoying.  Now, if you have friends who are writing/fantasy geeks, and they don’t mind having a discussion about whether hobbits are cooler than elves or not, go for it.  Be aware of how your friends put up with you I mean your wonderful fantasy ideas spilling out of your brain.  Control that crazy spillage and talk about NORMAL THINGS.  One of my best friends reads the stories I send to her  for her to critique and really likes them, but we don’t talk about it all the time because she’s…wait for it…..not obsessed with fantasy! (dun dun dun!!)  She is a fellow Hunger Games obsesser though, so we mostly talk about the HG books and the coming movie.  (speaking of which, who else has pre-ordered their tickets??)  Most of my friends aren’t as crazy-obsessed with mythology and fantasy as me (except for a few–yeah, you know who you are 😉 ).  My literature teacher was talking about dead aka overly-used metaphors, and she asked if any of us actually pictured Achilles when someone said the phrase “my Achilles heel”.  I, of course, with a huge grin plastered on my face, raised my hand.  No one else in my class pictured that, and my teacher thought it was funny and commented (in a nice way) on my obsession with Greek mythology.  My biggest obsession is probably my book series that I’ve been working on.  I’m constantly writing or jotting down ideas.  I think about my characters before I go to sleep.  Sometimes I get ideas from dreaming about my characters. (if that’s not weird, I don’t know what is!)  It’s okay to have obsessions, and it’s okay for people to know about them. 🙂

CHALLENGE: Follow FF by email (look on the side-bar) or become an affiliate!

QUESTION: What is your biggest obsession?

2 thoughts on “Like it? Love it? Obsessed?

  1. Obsessed with reading? Yes. Obsessed with any particular type of book? Mysteries, probably. Obsessed with this website? Some would say yes. 🙂 I love it when I get an email saying there is a new post, and I always read the post ASAP!! Thank you, JK and JS for this amazing website!

  2. OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG!!! I WOOOOON???? O_O 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Aaaaanyways, on a more sane note, I have a LOT of obsessions… I am also HG obsessed (I PREORDERED TICKETS!!! :D) I am also obsessed with many, many, many, MANY other things. However I will not go into detail as not to bore you with my long speech on the millions of things I love xD

Leave a Reply

