“Cuz way down deep inside I’ve got a dream!”


I have come to the conclusion that I have the best dreams when I get 11+ hours of sleep.  I’m on spring break this week, and man does it feel good to sleep in!  Back to the subject of dreams—you know you’re a writer when you dream about your characters.  I’ve gotten some really good ideas from dreams.  For instance, I dreamed up an entire plotline about a princess and pirates and their adventures on the high seas, which I’ve since changed and incorporated into what I hope will one-day be a best-selling book series.  Last night, I dreamed about one of my characters giving another character a serious talk about dating his sister.  You think of the weirdest things when you dream.  Dreams are very key to stories though.  A character could either have some kind of revelation in a dream, have a vision that is a very serious plot twist, or be visited by some supernatural force.  One of my characters (well, actually a few, but I’m mostly focusing on one) has visions from time to time that she can’t control.  You can more or less count that as a dream.  Her dilemma is whether or not to act on her visions, and as I’m sure we’ve all figured out by now, trying to change the future is usually what makes the event you’re trying to avoid happen. **coughcoughstarwarscoughcough**

 I still haven’t figured out if I want my characters to tempt fate or not, so I will get back to you on that.  If your characters DO have dreams, make an element of the dream pop up much much later in the plotline.  This is what makes readers go “OHHHHhhh!  I get it now!  This writer is a genius!”  Use the dreams you have to inspire your writing, and your characters.  I recommend getting lots and lots and LOTS of sleep.  In other news, I FINALLY sat down and wrote the next Demigod Diaries.  Check it out at The Official Demigod Diaries Blog and tell me what you think!  I actually giggled (literally) like a three-year-old when I was writing it, thinking about all the awesome plotlines I have planned.  MWAHAHAHAH….yeah, ok.  I’m taking a survey for a story idea I’m working on, so pleeeaase answer the question at the end of this post!  It would make me a very happy camper. 🙂 TTFN!

CHALLENGE: Figure out where the title of this post comes from, and you get a million bonus points!

QUESTION: When you were little, were you ever scared that there was something under your bed?  If so, what was it?

9 thoughts on ““Cuz way down deep inside I’ve got a dream!”

  1. Tangled!!! And yes, I used to think there were things under my bed. Lots of times they were crab-like creatures on one side and something else on the other side, and they would always be engaged in a war. I had to lie as flat as humanly possible on my bed so that their bombs, arrows, etc. wouldn’t hurt/kill me. 🙂

      1. Yay! Haha, I don’t think I had a very traumatic childhood, but I do have quite the imagination. 😛

    1. And another thing- all of my dresser and bedside table drawers have to be closed, as well as my closet door. I have yet to figure out why I feel the need to have all doors/drawers closed before I can sleep.

  2. I never thought anything was under my bed, but there is a tree outside my window. Now it seems quite childish because the branches are thin and no one but a child or an elf could be supported by them, but I always thought someone was watching me through the window, or perhaps were planning to shoot me. I always slept with my whole head under the covers so that the sniper couldn’t see me :).

  3. I don’t think I was ever afraid that there was something under my bed. However, I know I was TERRIFIED that there were people inside of my closet… so for 13 years I insisted that the closet door be closed before I went to bed, just to be safe. It was a big accomplishment for me to finally fall asleep with the door open… 🙂

  4. I was never scared of the monsters under my bed or in my closet type of senarios as a kid… I was like “monsters? BRING IT ON!” xD I was a strange child… xD

    Also, I’d like to ask when we’ll work on that thing for the contest prize (you know, the prize for the myth writing contest?) 😀 I’m all excited for it >u< *squeals like a Frenchman*

      1. Yay!!! 😀 I’ll email you when I think of an idea!!! Although I think I’ve got one settled 😀

Leave a Reply

