Is She Insane? I Think Not.


Remember how I said I would write a review of The Hunger Games after I saw it?  Welllllll I need to put that on hold until I see it again, specifically the beginning. (the sound in our theater was jacked, so by the time they moved us to another theater, we had already missed everything before the Reaping…)  The parts of the movie that I did see were AMAZING!!!  The movie totally did the book justice, even though they left out a few things and added others in.  It all worked PERFECTLY though.  That’s all I’ll say about the movie for now, with the exception of, if you haven’t seen it yet, SEE IT ASAP! 🙂

Today’s post is about plotlines and how they affect your characters, especially when you don’t want your characters to be affected by a certain plotline.  I have now determined my favorite character in my [planned] book series, but she’s not my main character.  Her family was cursed generations back by a seer, and many people in her family have become insane because of the curse.  I don’t want my character to succumb to her seemingly imminent insanity, but at the same time she needs to be affected by this curse, and be afraid of it.  This is one of the greatest challenges in writing.  You can’t make up a crazy awesome plotline and then say, “Oh, well, this character just won’t be affected by it because I don’t want him/her to be.”  If that’s your only reason, then you need to rethink your character and/or plotline.  A good writer thinks their plotlines through, leaving no stone unturned.  If your character’s family has a disorder that causes them to die at a young age, how will your character deny fate?  Or in my case, how will my character stay sane while at the same time having the possibility of going insane?  And believing she will one day go insane?  At first glance, your greatest plotlines seem like just that: great plotlines.  That doesn’t mean they aren’t great when you dive into them, but thinking them through and thinking about which characters it will affect, when and where it will affect them, and why it does or doesn’t affect them is very important.  And if you have a few loose ends, it’s not always a big deal.  Just don’t make them details that leave people wondering, “How does that work?  The writer said that he/she was supposed to have been affected by that, and they never were!”  People won’t be as likely to read your story if the plotlines don’t add up.  Have fun thinking up crazy plotlines!! (**I’ve also added more writing tips)

CHALLENGE: Go through your story ideas and see if you have any plotlines that don’t add up with each other, or your characters, and change them so the plotlines work.

QUESTION: What was your favorite scene in The Hunger Games??

4 thoughts on “Is She Insane? I Think Not.

  1. What if you’re carrying out your plotline and things start falling apart, maybe because once you have characters in situations where they are saying and doing things, what they say and do needs to change in order to be realistic? Some writers say they don’t know what their plotline will be until the characters actually do it, that the characters themselves determine the plot. What do you think of this?

    1. I feel like my characters are writing the story rather than me. They’re very temperamental. The plotlines come and go. 😉

  2. My favorite scene from the Hunger Games movie was when the chariots were riding down the street and Katniss and Peeta were on fire. That was awesome. My second favorite was Katniss’s interview with Caesar Flickerman.
    Also, my favorite mistake like the ones you talked about is in Harry Potter, the concept of Time Turners. It was a catastrophe, even though I love the books.

  3. Favorite scene… Hmm… My favorite scene can pretty much be put into one sentence:
    THAT IS MAHOGANY!!! xD
    Yup, my fave scene.

    But I also like that one part where the careers are just skipping, looking like they’re in a musical. I just wanted to shout out “THIS ISN’T THE WIZARD OF OZ, KIDDOS!!!” xD Good times.

Leave a Reply

