My Brother the Zombie-Killer


As I write this, I’m playing Halo with my brother and my cousin.  While they’re killing every zombie in sight, I’m failing MISERABLY……I am not good at first-person video games…  But back to the updates—I added a few new pages to Literary Lessons (Transition Words and Motifs), I posted the newest chapter of Demigod Diaries on the Official DD Blog, and Gil (The Original BURP Blog) and I have been hard at work on our super secret writing project, thinking of all kinds of awesome ideas.  Okay, it’s not THAT secret, but I will leak the title we picked and a tiny bit of the first chapter. 😉  We won’t be publishing it for a little while longer, but I thought I’d give you guys something to look forward to.  Here is a snippet from chapter one of Fire & Water: The Elemental Saga.

Hugging her knees to her chest, Aria stared sullenly at the pool of water in front of her.  She didn’t want to be here.  She glanced up at the cloudy sky and breathed deeply, knowing rain was imminent.  She didn’t care.  And why should she?  Water was one of the few things that made her happy.  If she could breathe underwater, she would make her home at the bottom of a lake and never surface.  The land of Pendrin had nothing to offer her except blank memories.  She tilted her head to the side, hearing the laughter of some of the younger students.  Part of her wished to join in, to be a part of the lives here.  The rest of her knew she would never be part of that.  She was already part of something else.  But she no longer remembered the people and places she was a part of.

Yeah, that’s all you’re going to get for today.  But we will keep you posted on when we finally laugh the blog!  And since I mentioned my terrible Halo-playing at the beginning of this post, I figured the subject would be on warfare in books.  War in books can range from many different things.  The Hunger Games, for example, is very violent, and even more so because it’s teenagers pitted against each other.  In The Lion, The Witch, And The Wardrobe (specifically the movie), is more of your classic fantasy battle.  Whatever genre you’re writing, there will (and should) be conflict somewhere, whether it’s a battle of swords or a battle of wits.  You should first choose what weapons your characters will be fighting with: will it be modern warfare or more along the lines of a gladiator’s weapons?  It also depends on what you’re creating your land to be.  I mean, if you have like a modern warfare kind of world, but have a bunch of immortals and mythological people, it’ll either work or it won’t.  It all depends on how you tell the story.  Personally, I prefer the basic weapons—swords, bows & arrows, daggers, knives, shields, and spears.  It’s much easier for me to write about them than guns.  That’s another thing.  Find out what you’re most comfortable writing with, and use that to build your weapons system.  Sometimes, your characters define the terms for your battles, and it’s their preference over yours.  Characters can be finicky like that.

Oh!  And before I end this post, I have to mention this awesome website my dad found.  It’s called Wordle, and it’s pretty much the greatest thing in the world.  You type in a bunch of words (they should probably have something to do with each other….unless you like random words together…) and the more you type in a word, the bigger it gets in the word cloud.

CHALLENGE: Participate in the Demigod Diaries contest or the PercyQuest contest!

QUESTION: Do you fail as miserably as I do at video games? 😉

2 thoughts on “My Brother the Zombie-Killer

Leave a Reply

