And the Winner Is…


Right now, I’m sitting in my living room  listening to One Direction’s “What Makes You Beautiful.”  I actually just remembered a funny story about that song, but you’ll have to wait while I go make my pizza for dinner.  Well, you won’t have to wait because………you already know why so I’m not going to explain it.  BRB BFFLs.

Okay, I’m back.   Sorry for your oh-so-long delay.  I guess now is as good a time as any to explain the title of this post.  My brothers won their championship soccer games the other day, and they scored the game-winning goals. (I don’t want to brag, but my bros rock!)  The other reason for the title is because it’s the title of the most recent episode of my new obsession, The Legend of Korra.  It’s the sequel series to the Nickelodeon’s old cartoon Avatar: The Last Airbender.  With which I am also obsessed.  You can read my post about obsessions here.  Hopefully I’m not going overboard with mine….. 😛

I just thought of another use for this title, since I obviously need something substantial to post about.  In my [planned] book series, I have a pretty good cast of villains to compliment my protags.  The question that remains is, who will win in this struggle of good and evil?  The only book  I know of where the villain wins and the protagonist dies isn’t actually a real book.  It’s Inkheart, which is an actual book, but I’m talking about the book Inkheart that’s inside the actual book called Inkheart……are you confused yet?  It’s usually the norm for the heroes to barely win and take out the villains, keeping the reader on the edge of his/her seat.  But maybe, your tactic as a writer is to fool your audience into believing that everything is going to end perfectly, that it’ll have a happily-ever-after-type ending, and instead, dashing the reader’s hopes and dreams about the characters.  But that would be mean, so most writers (I’m not sure all writers do this) give their books a happy ending.  Sure, they may kill off a character or two in the process, but at least they’re not killing everyone, right?  If you really want your story to shock your readers, give it an unhappy ending, but don’t make it completely devoid of hope.  Sometimes, the villain is killed, sometimes, he/she is left alive.  How will you end your book?

An update on Fire & Water: The Elemental Saga: Gil (TOBB) and I have been hard at work on the series, and we’ll be posting the first chapter really soon!

CHALLENGE: Participate in the Demigod Diaries Contest and vote on the poll!

QUESTION: Are you planning to kill off your villain?

One thought on “And the Winner Is…

Leave a Reply

