NaNoWriMo


Since I really need to get a jump on writing my book (and eventually, series), I decided, what the heck.  I’ll try NaNoWriMo.  NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month, and basically, you get a month (Novermber) to write a 50,000+ word novel.  Since I’ve written absolutely nothing except random excerpts and the prologue for my story (which is ridiculously short, if you ask me), I figured this would be a good way to get my thoughts down on the page.  I work a lot better under deadlines, and deadlines almost make me alert and ready for action.  Being the prepared person I am, I haven’t even planned out my book.  Definitely more of a gardener.  Hopefully, NaNoWriMo will help me figure out my complicated and ever-changing plotline and help me see what really needs fixing.  I poked around on the website and one of the pages said that the novel you write in the month of November is not meant to be edited in that time period.  These people practically read my mind.  The whole purpose of NaNo is to get your crazy thoughts and mind-blowing ideas on paper.  Er, computer screens.  I’m not sure why I haven’t done this sooner!  So if I don’t post anything during November, you’ll know why. 🙂

Will you be doing NaNoWriMo this year?

Leave a Reply

