Taking A Look Back


As the new year kicks off, I’m thinking that 2012 was a pretty great year. A few highlights I can name off the top of my head: I went to my first midnight movie premiere, I took my first cross-country trip to San Francisco and Yosemite, I went on my first missions trip, I started The Elemental Saga with Gil, and I had my sweet sixteen. (as well as getting my driver’s license!)

As far as writing, it was a pretty productive year. There is only so much preparation and brainstorming you can do before you just have to write. Last week, I sat down in a fit of inspiration and outlined my entire book series. Roughly, of course, but I now have a solid idea of where I want to take my series, which is more than I had even a few months ago.

NaNoWriMo was a fail, but it also helped me further my series, forcing me to write down the dreaded chapter one. (remind me to blog about how awful it is writing the first chapter)

Gil and I have completed fifteen chapters of our blog novel, The Elemental Saga. I’ve had so much fun writing it with him, and I can’t wait to see what crazy ideas we come up with in the coming months.

The ball has dropped in Times Square. The fireworks are booming. The world didn’t end as was predicted. One door closes, another opens. Here’s to 2013 and all it brings. Happy New Year, everyone!

Leave a Reply

