Meant to Write


20131107-134706.jpg

“With my trusty cup of tea in hand, I will navigate this treacherous path known to some as National Novel Writing Month.”

I wrote this on November 2, planning to write this inspirational post about how I was going to conquer NaNoWriMo. At the moment, I’m a few thousand words behind from where I’d like to be — my schedule has decided to knock me into the ground this week. 50,000 words in one month is a pretty big goal if you think about it, but when you sit down to actually write those 50,000 words, it’s a little more daunting. So far, I’ve written about one and a half chapters of my book and outlined several more. I’m really terrible about making myself write every day, but because of NaNoWriMo, I’ve been in such a great mood because I’ve been doing what I love: creating worlds and characters. Have you ever done something, whether a job or a hobby, and just felt like that’s what you were meant to do? That’s how I feel whenever I’m writing, when I’m scribbling ideas every-which-way in my notebook, when my fingers are flying across the keys in excitement. I am truly alive in those moments. That thought is what pushes away the scary goal of 50,000 words. I don’t know why it took so long for me to figure this out, but I’m genuinely happier when I write everyday, whether that’s 500 words or 2000. And I want to write. I guess the principle of disciplining yourself to do something every day works in more cases than one; the more you do it, the more you want to.

One thought on “Meant to Write

Leave a Reply

