Writing Prompt #1

I keep deciding super random things for posts.  Luckily, they are relevant to the writing world.  I will be giving a series of writing prompts, and I hope you all will write short stories (or longer) with them!  Feel free to send them to me at julia.fictionalfantasy@gmail.com.  I’d love to read them.

WRITING PROMPT #1: The cold, harsh wind blew over the forgotten town.  Standing in ruins, the crumbling buildings seemed on the verge of falling to their deaths.  Only one living thing, a man, was within twenty miles of the town.  In fact, he was in the town itself.  At first glance, the stranger would seem absolutely unapproachable, what with the long scar down the left of his face, the weathered and sun-beaten skin, the cold gleam of his eyes.  But his purpose in this town was one thing, and one thing only.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I updated the Writing Tips page, and all the newest tips are highlighted.  I also started a new section — Literary Lessons!  So far there are three folders in the section: Themes, Banned Words, and Helpful Adverbs!  If there’s something in particular you’d like to learn more about, feel free to email me!

I recently guest posted for FF’s affiliate, The Original BURP Blog, with my short story Elementa.  A big thanks to Gil, author of TOBB!

CHALLENGE: Participate in the contest!  It’s closing on January 11!

QUESTION: Where is the coolest place you’ve EVER been?