“He ate and drank the precious words…”


Aloha people of the world!  This post was inspired by a bunch of Emily Dickinson poems I had to read for school today.  I also had to do a research report on her, and while I was poking around the interwebs, I found a quote that really inspired me, even though I am nowhere near being a good poet.

“If I read a book and it makes my whole body so cold no fire can warm me I know that is poetry. If I feel physically as if the top of my head were taken off, I know that is poetry. These are the only way I know it. Is there any other way?” – Emily Dickinson

This is how a book or a poem should make you feel.  It should give you chills, making you feel the emotion of a tense or emotional scene.  It should make you gulp in fear for the characters’ lives.  It should make you feel like you’re inside the characters’ heads, experiencing what they’re experiencing.  Here is a link for all of Emily Dickinson’s poems, which will also be on the Links page.  Some are so bizarre I couldn’t figure out what they were talking about.  Others are amazing examples of personification.  So check them out!  (the title of this post comes from Part 1: Life XXI)

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

I updated my Hunger Games fanfic Johanna, so check out chapter four!  I’m sorry I haven’t updated Demigod Diaries in FOREVER, I’ve just been super busy with my book and school. There is now a new section of Literary Lessons: Lit Terms!  This page contains and explains all sorts of literary terms that may have seemed strange before.  There is also a new page for all the writing prompts!

Another exciting thing: I will be guesting on The Original BURP Blog‘s podcast, which airs January 28th!  Be sure to listen!

CHALLENGE: Vote on the poll and submit a writing prompt!

QUESTION: What poetry has inspired you?

Leave a comment